United Progressive Alliance is a coalition of left political parties in India formed after the 2004 general elections. In the UPA is Indian National Congress, whose president Sonia Gandhi is also the chairperson of the UPA. Subsequently the Prime Minister of India, Manmohan Singh, and the Council of Ministers are drawn from members of the UPA.
The UPA formed soon after the 2004 general elections when it had become clear that no party had won an absolute majority. The Left Front with 59 MPs (excluding the speaker of the Lok Sabha), the Samajwadi Party with 39 MPs and the Bahujan Samaj Party with 19 MPs were other significant blocks that opted to support UPA at various phases of its rule. The UPA did not enjoy a simple majority on its own in the parliament, rather it has relied on the external support to ensure that it enjoys the confidence of the Indian parliament similar to the formula adopted by the previous minority governments of the United Front, the NDA, the Congress government of P. V. Narasimha Rao, and earlier governments of V. P. Singh and Chandra Shekhar.
UPA survived a vote of confidence in the parliament on 22 July 2008 after left parties withdrew their support. Support from the Samajwadi Party was significant in this. In the Indian General Election in 2009, the UPA won 262 seats, of which the INC accounted for 206. Inclusive and populist policies along with a younger leadership has been credited for this.

Current members

   Indian National Congress (206 MPs)
    Nationalist Congress Party (9 MPs)
    Rashtriya Lok Dal (5 MPs)
    Jammu & Kashmir National Conference (3 MPs)
    Indian Union Muslim League (3 MPs)
    Kerala Congress (Mani) (1 MP)
    Sikkim Democratic Front (1 MP)
    All India United Democratic Front (1 MP)

jjjj Outside support is provided by:

    Samajwadi Party: (22 MPs)
    Bahujan Samaj Party: (21 MPs)
    Rashtriya Janata Dal: (10 MPs)

The total is 276 MPs which is above the requisite 273 MPs to stay in power.
Telangana Rashtra Samithi

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) was the first party to quit the alliance, first when its ministers quit the Andhra Pradesh government, and finally when an official withdrawal was done at the national level by its president K. Chandrashekar Rao, who resigned his Lok Sabha seat.
Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam

Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (MDMK), began its drift when it tied up with the UPA's rival All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam (AIADMK) during the Tamil Nadu elections, and on March 16, 2007 officially withdrew support from the government.
Bahujan Samaj Party

On 21 June 2008, the Bahujan Samaj Party, or the BSP, with 18 seats, announced withdrawal of its support after the Congress starting opposing the UP government where the BSP was the ruling party. Their leader Mayawati said that she wouldn't enter an electoral alliance with either the Congress or the BJP. She also accused both parties of misusing the Central Bureau of Investigation or the CBI and attempting to implicate her in the Taj Corridor Case. She also accused Congress of making false promises to help the people of Bundelkhand and Poorvanchal regions as they were suffering from drought.[20]
Left Front

On 8 July 2008, Prakash Karat, the general secretary of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI (M)), announced that the Left Front would be withdrawing support over the decision by the government to go ahead with the Indo-US nuclear deal, a Section 123 Agreement with the United States.
People's Democratic Party

On 4 January 2009, Mehbooba Mufti, president of the People's Democratic Party announced the withdrawal of the PDP from the UPA given that the Congress had decided to support the Omar Abdullah-led National Conference Government in Jammu & Kashmir after the 2008 state elections.
Pattali Makkal Katchi

On 26 March 2009, PMK declared that it would join the AIADMK led front and withdrew from the UPA and the party president declared that two union ministers of his party will resign shortly.
All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen

On 12 November 2012, Barrister Asaduddin Owaisi, leader of the AIMIM announced the decision of the party's executive and declared that his party would now go after the state government for its "communal" and "anti-people" policies. Addressing a news conference, Owaisi said his party was compelled to take the decision due to "the communal behaviour of Kiran Kumar Reddy's government in Andhra Pradesh". Giving a detailed account of communal riots in the state and Hyderabad since 2010, he alleged that the Congress government not only turned a blind eye to MIM's demands to withdraw cases against innocent Muslims and take action against the guilty but pandered to the Sangh Parivar. The MIM's decision came after the government allegedly allowed construction of a canopy over a temple abutting the historic Charminar in alleged violation of court orders to maintain status quo. Owaisi criticized the chief minister for ignoring the high court order to maintain status quo.
Trinamool Congress

On 18 September 2012, TMC Chief, Mamata Banerjee, announced her decision to withdraw support to the UPA after the TMC's demands of rollback of reforms including FDI in retail, increase in the price of diesel and limiting the number of subsidised cooking gas cylinders for households, were not met.
Jharkhand Vikas Morcha

On 1 October 2012 the Jharkhand Vikas Morcha, led by Babulal Marandi, withdrew the support of its two MPs to the UPA government. The JVM was part of the UPA. Though this did not impact the stability of the government, the JVM's withdrawal of support came two weeks after a major UPA ally, the Trinamool Congress, pulled out of the alliance.

The reason for JVM's withdrawal was the same as the Trinamool's; against the decision to implement 51% FDI in Retail Businesses and the Hike in Diesel Prices.
Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam

On October 17, 2012 14 DMK MPs, including central ministers T.R. Baalu and A. Raja was forced to handed in their post-dated resignation letters to the head of the party, due to Spectrum corruption Scandal. The party leaders M.K.Karunanidhi's daughter Kanimozhi executed the 2G scandal with then Information Technology minister Andimuthu Raja and caused billions of rupees of loss to Government of India. During the investigation, they found a huge sum of money has been exchanged to DMK party leader Karunanidhi's wife’s T.V channel. The UPA alliance, particularly Congress, has lost its confidence among the people of India due to several corruption charges.

The DMK pulled out of the UPA government on 19 March 2013 over the issue of a draft resolution at the United Nations Human Rights Council of the alleged human rights' violations of Sri Lankan Tamils.
Thus this is all the basic information we could collect for this write-up. We will be explaining about the various schemes, election agendas, major leaders and all the possible information about the coalition during our group presentation. The various accusations, controversies, achievements and failures will also be discussed and also the future prospective of the coalition in the upcoming 2014 elections and the lost grounds.
Therefore, whatever information could be collected for this task have been put in this essay. More explanations and discussions will be done during group presentation sessions.

Group 10Topics-(Vellaism & UPA)
NameEnrollment Number
Saif Ullah A12405212060
Abdul Aleem A12405212018
Jatan Tripathi A12405212047
Lokesh Tokas A12405212080
Ankur Wadhwa A12405212042