The Indian premiere league is a Twenty20 cricket league in India. It started in the year 2008  and was  initiated by Lalit Modi & the Board of Cricket Council in India(BCCI). The league is presently  supervised by BCCI vice president Rajeev Shukla. The first twenty20 game was introduced in  England  by the England Cricket Board.
 The IPL consists of eight franchises that make teams to play in the tournament namely –
1.       Chennai Super Kings(CSK)
2.       Mumbai Indians(MI)
3.       Kolkata Knight Riders(KKR)
4.       Delhi Daredevils(DD)
5.        Sunrisers Hyderabad(SRH)
6.       Royal Challengers Bangalore(RCB)
7.       Rajasthan Royals(RR)
8.       Kings XI Punjab(KXIP)
Players are selected from all round the world by the different franchises by bidding.The first IPL in 2008 was won by Rajasthan Royals. Then Deccan chargers,Chennai super kings and Kolkata Knight riders became the champions in the next IPLs. The winner of the last IPL was Mumbai Indians in 2013.

IPL became the first sporting event to be broadcasted live on Youtube. The Chennaai super kings are the most successful team in the IPL,as they have won it two times and have reached the finals three times.There has been some controversies  with the players and teams regaurding match fixing ,due to which some players were also banned from the  tournaments.Recently a well known Indian pacer S.Sreeshanth was banned from playing due to his involvement in spot fixing.